School Diversity Advisory Group

The School Diversity Advisory Group is working to reshape citywide policies and practices such as admissions and program planning.


Executive Committee

  • Amy Hsin, Queens College
  • Hazel Dukes (Co-chair), NAACP
  • Jose Calderon (Co-chair), Hispanic Federation
  • Maya Wiley (Co-chair), New School
  • Richard Kahlenberg, Century Foundation

Full School Diversity Advisory Group

  • Alexa Sorden, Principal, Concourse Village Elementary School
  • Amy Stuart Wells, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Andrew Averill, Teacher, The College Academy
  • Ashley Valente, P.S. 396 
  • Asya Johnson, Principal, Longwood Preparatory Academy 
  • Cassandra Baptiste, Teacher, The Children's Workshop School
  • Celia Green, Chancellor's Parent Advisory Committee (CPAC)
  • David Jones, Community Service Society of NY (CSSNY)
  • David Kirkland, NYU Metro Center
  • Dr. Debbie Almontaser, Founder and CEO, Bridging Cultures Group Inc.
  • DeKalia Wilson, Student, Pelham Lab High School and Director of DeCriminalization at IntegrateNYC
  • Dennis Parker, ACLU
  • Diana Noriega, The Committee for Hispanic Children and Families (CHCF)
  • Frances Lucerna, El Puente
  • Frantzy Luzincourt, Alumni of Leon M. Goldstein, Sophomore at City College, and Director of Strategy at IntegrateNYC
  • Henry Rubio, CSA
  • James Merriman, NYC Charter School Center
  • Janella Hinds, UFT
  • Kim Sweet, Advocates for Children
  • LaShawn Robinson, Office of Equity and Access, NYC DOE
  • Liam Buckley, Student, NYC Lab High School; Chancellor's Student Advisory Council (CSAC)
  • Lois Herrera, Office of Safety and Youth Development, NYC DOE
  • Marco Battistella, Chancellor's Parent Advisory Committee (CPAC)
  • Marisol Rosales, Superintendent, Manhattan high schools
  • Matt Gonzales, NY Appleseed Foundation
  • Matthew Diaz, Student, Bronx Academy of Letters and Director of Outreach at IntegrateNYC
  • Meisha Ross Porter, Superintendent, District 11
  • Nequan Mclean, Education Council Consortium, (ECC)
  • Noreen Mills, Principal, Carroll Gardens School for Innovation
  • Rebecca Rawlins, Office of District Planning, NYC DOE
  • Ryan J. S. Baxter, Promoting Access to Specialized Schools in New York City (PASSNYC); REBNY
  • Sarah Kleinhandler, Office of Student Enrollment, NYC DOE
  • Shino Tanikawa, Education Council Consortium (ECC)
  • Sister Paulette LoMonaco, Good Shepherd Services
  • Sonia Park, Diverse Charter Schools Coalition
  • Vanessa Leung, Coalition for Asian American Children and Families (CACF)
  • Wayne Ho, Chinese-American Planning Council
  • Yolanda Torres, Division of Family and Community Engagement, NYC DOE
  • Yousof Abdelreheem, Student, John Bowne High School; Chancellor's Student Advisory Council (CSAC)